Getting laid off sucks. Getting laid off with outplacement sucks less

I just finished my orientation session with the outplacement services company Drake Beam Morin (DBM) and was pleasantly surprised. To rewind a little bit here, Microsoft laid off 1400 people in a restructuring and as part of the severance package monies, each of the employees ( myself included ) were given a 16 week period with DBM.

DBM’s mission is to help you help yourself get a job. I thought I knew a lot about job searching, but they really broke things down in a way that made me examine some of the things I’d been assuming. You know, the thing that really knocked me on my heels was how positive everyone there was about me. It made me feel really good, in a way that I hadn’t felt for a while, even before the lay off. I almost felt embarrassed, but I needed it. Just like they were straight with me when they told me to drop the whole laid off bullshit. Ione, my counselor, told me that she almost felt like I was sabotaging myself by doing that. That really blew my noodle. Was I? Maybe I’m still blaming myself for getting laid off. There is a lot of things you lean about yourself when something like this happens. It’s hard to articulate the feelings that run through you. I’m still dealing with it, and I probably will be for a while. But I think DBM was a great step I didn’t know i needed to take to deal with it.

Best advice I have for those MS people who haven’t taken advantage of the service is do it. Its 2 days of your time, and it doesn’t cost anything. If you’ve been laid off elsewhere and you don’t have an outplacement service, the best advice I can give you is the really lean on your friends and family. I knew that was what I should be doing, but you know what? We as people know many of things but we don’t always use that knowledge. Smoking ring any bells?

My last day is coming up fast. March 23rd. Damn, 2 months went by like they were nothing. Still interviewing, still looking. Stay motivated! Funny thing happened at the center though. I got to be pretty good friends with the 2 other guys there, and at the end of today’s session, Ione was like, I’ll see you guys later. And the other 2 guys (Mike and Cliff) responded likewise. But something stuck in my head: The ending of good will hunter. At the end, the best friend of the main character tells him friend he never wants to see him again. Not because he hates him, but because he loves him and we wants him to succeed. By leaving the main character will have fulfilled his dream and potential. So I told Cliff I hoped I didn’t see him tomorrow. Because that means he got a job.

Leave a Reply

