Losing my sanity: online dating continued

Plenty of Fish has 1 really, really good thing going for it: it’s free. This is countered by the powerfully bad UX that makes navigating around a bear, and more akin to exploring a haunted house: “Hey, let’s open this do…Oh shit! I didn’t want to see that! Turn around! Where am I??”

This is a picture of the PoF (Plenty of Fish) header on the site: plenty of fish UX header

It looks perfectly reasonable. It looks reasonable until you start navigating it; it is then that you find all the things that are confusing. One would think the “My Matches” takes you to your matches. It actually does this, but the problem with this is that your “matches” looks a whole lot like the “Chemistry” results, which in turn looks a whole lot like the first page of results from the “Search” option. I’ll be damned if I can figure out the difference because there isn’t a rating associated with any of the profiles as to how closely you’re matched. Not that it matters to me – every single profile I looked at had the EXACT same chemistry profile as me! And, for those few people who had filled it out, the relationship profile was exactly the same as well!.

Now this is interesting – I guess either 1) Everyone on the site has the exact same chemistry and relationship results or 2) Everyone they’ll ever show me has the exact same chemistry and relationship results. Hmmmm, maybe that’s ok, but what’s the point of showing the chemistry results then? And why am I having to guess about how they are picking the girls to match to me?

One other major problem with the site that isn’t really their fault is, well, the selection. I’m not gonna lie: I like Asian girls the best. I know, total shocker, Asian man likes Asian women but there it is. I’ll definitely check out other ethnicities, but it’s like an unstated (well, stated now) preference for me. I just click better with them. So here is the number of Asian women, 25-35 from the search results within 25 miles of me:

Asian results within 25 miles

Now here are the number of Caucasian results:

Caucasian results within 25 miles

Fuck me.

I did see a commercial for Match.com. Guess I’m going to have to add that to the list of sites to try because with these kind of results, it’s not looking good for Fly Rice over here as PoF.

One place that isn’t totally crappy that Plenty of Fish does have this interesting feature called “Meet me”. It’s basically this Hot or Not like feature where you can rate meeting people “Yes”, “Maybe”, and “No”. Unfortunately, it falls prey to the same issue of ambiguity: every single person you meet will be same chemistry as you but you have no idea how close you are. Minor footnote: hilariously, there is a photo judgment section where you judge photos for the site and note if they are appropriate or not. It defaults to men and women, and as soon as you flip it you women only, it tells you there are no results.

Ok, back to business as to what I thought of the “Meet me” experience. One must be blunt andI don’t want to be unkind here – I mean, I’m not some kind of super model, but I must have judged several hundred photos and it was some depressing ass shit. As of the time of this writing of this blog post, I’m 32 and I restricted my results to women between the ages of 25 and 35, and frankly, excluding weight entirely, a lot of these women looked much older than I would have given them credit for. It should have been funny in a circus act kind of way, but it was mostly sad that there were women out there who were like 28 and looked like they were twice as old as they were.

Still, after much I did end up finding some women who might be date material…and maybe that’s the lesson here. Perhaps in real life we really do end up going through hundreds and hundred of people just to find one person who might be worthy of dating. Who knows? If I end up going out with any of them, I’ll post about breaking my online dating cherry. I hope it’s more entertaining than the search though…

Leave a Reply

