Setting up your router to use DynDNS

I was recently reminded that I wrote a post about setting up your Windows XP machine to be remote accessible anywhere, but I never wrote the follow-up on what to do after that! I was working with one of the leads at Tableau when we were talking about workarounds to get a Mac on the network. Long story short, I mentioned the article I’d written, but when I read through it, it ends after setting up Windows XP for remote operation.

This means if you followed up the instructions in the original post to the letter, you’d have to remember your IP to be able to connect,and if your internet provider ever gave you a different IP, you’d have to find out what it is and rememorize the new IP. What I ended up doing after that is setting up my router to use a free service from DynDNS.org. Most new-ish routers have the build-in capability to work with DynDNS.org to provide free IP update services, and also free DNS hosting – the caveat being you are limited by the domains available to you. Since we only plan to use this to remote, this is not such a bad limitation! Below are the adapted instructions I whipped up for Raif, I hope they work well for whoever reads them too. Smile

  1. Go to DynDNS.org
  2. Setup an account
  3. Under “My Services” select “My Hosts” DynDNS account setup type
  4. Select “Add New Host Name” DynDNS add hostname
  5. Pick a name and an extension. Fill in the IP address. Then activate.
  6. Now login to your router. Look for something like this:DynDNS setup - router portion
  7. Fill in the info from DynDns
  8. Apply and let the magic happen

This capability is completely awesome and really makes your information at home accessible. Of course you will want to lockdown your router and also be very careful not to share the name that you’ve chosen for your machine, but in my opinion, the benefits are very much worth the tradeoff. Happy Remoting!

Leave a Reply

